Unbeaten over 38 games but still not champions!

06/17/2022

I've been in touch with a couple Cornish footballers this week, one from the past and the other a current player, but both for my forthcoming CORNISH SOCCER magazine.

Both have won league titles, one in fact went the whole season winning every single game, although back then in 1962-63, when playing for St Blazey, the East Cornwall Premier League only consisted of 11 teams and so the 100% record was only over 20 games. I write "only", but its still an amazing achievement, especially if you add on the 11 League Cup games that they also won!

The other player, who is to be my "Player Profile" in the mag which will be coming out next week, is a current champion with Falmouth Town as well winning a league before at Step 7 level.

However, he also finished a runner-up when he was in a side that were unbeaten in their 38 league games but it still wasn't enough to win the league title! How gutting must that have been!

This leads me onto remind people about the recent book I've put together covering all the Final League tables from 1951 onwards. I put it out and about a couple weeks ago asking if anyone would be interested in obtaining a copy and I've had interest from around 25.  The more pre-orders I can get, basically the cheaper the price of each copy. So before I put in an order, this is my last shout to ask if anyone else would be interested? On the current number, it could well be too expensive to warrant doing.

You can contact me either by texting me on 07759 502408, email to davedeacon@cornishsoccer.info, and message via Twitter - @cornishsoccer or via Facebook. The order will be going in after the weekend and so please let me know as soon as possible.

CORNISH SOCCER, Dave Deacon, Flat 6, Lamorna House, East Hill, CAMBORNE, TR14 8FB
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started